Who
are we?

The mission of the Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines is to preserve and highlight the memory and heritage of Quebec’s Augustinian sisters for the entire population and future generations.

Created by the Augustinian sisters on October 1, 2009, this social trust, which qualifies as a charitable organization, protects the Augustinian sisters’ intentions and designates the population of Quebec as the main beneficiary of their cultural heritage.

It is the trust’s duty to protect this heritage, make it accessible to the public, and support the mission of Le Monastère des Augustines and the Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin. The Augustinian sisters have also entrusted it with the task of eventually seeking to reconvert the Hôpital général de Québec monastery.

Our
assets

The Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines owns the Augustinian sisters’ founding monastery, the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, classified as a national historic site of Canada and a heritage site according to Quebec Cultural Heritage Act. It is also the owner of the archives, old books, and collections entrusted to it by the 12 Augustinian monasteries.

Our
funding

The Fiducie contributes all donations received through Le Monastère des Augustines to the realization of the social mission entrusted in it by the Augustinian sisters.

The Fiducie also ensures that its financing is sustainable in order to preserve this important heritage. To this end, it creates funds entirely dedicated to this mission thanks to the generosity of major donors.

100% of donations go to priority projects

Our
trustees

Members
of the board
of directors

Gilles Gingras, CPA, CA, IAS.A, Consultant

President

CV

From 1987 to 2013, Gilles Gingras, CPA, CA, was a partner with Deloitte LLP in certification and consulting. From 2002 to 2010, Mr. Gingras sat on Deloitte’s Canadian Board of Directors and its finance, governance and risk committees. During the course of his career, he also acted as a lead client service partner for publicly traded and private companies, and was in charge of several mandates in mergers and acquisitions, financing, and tax, succession and financial planning. Mr. Gingras is currently a member of the Board of Directors of Geomega Resources Inc., a publicly traded corporation, and Chair of the Audit Committee. He also sits on various management committees and serves as an advisor for private companies. Gilles Gingras has in-depth knowledge of a number of activity sectors, namely, manufacturing (clothing, lumber, etc.), technology, agri-food, mining and religious communities.

X

David F. Blair, Lawyer and partner at McCarthy Tétrault

CV

David F. Blair obtained his Bachelor of Law (LL.B) from Université Laval in 1979 and was called to the Barreau du Québec in 1980. A partner with McCarthy Tétrault, he represents various Canadian, American and European partners in the trucking, bus and railway sectors, as well as in mining. He also represents companies in private merger and acquisition transactions and in the retail trade, and is active in the field of family governance and trusts. Mr. Blair was President of the Literary and Historical Society of  Quebec and the Morrin Centre for 13 years. He is the Chancellor of the Anglican Diocese of Quebec and a member of the Conseil pour l’avancement of the Faculté des sciences de l’administration of Université Laval. He also served as Secretary of the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee of the Société du 400e anniversaire de Québec. David F. Blair received the Order of Canada in December 2013.

X

Michel Gervais, O.C., O.Q., Ph.D., Consultant

CV

Michel Gervais spent most of his career at Université Laval, first as a research professor and then as Vice-Rector Academic and Research (1982-1987) and Rector (1987-1997). His rectorship was marked by tremendous progress in research and higher education at Laval. He chaired the Conférence des recteurs du Québec, the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada, the World University Service of Canada and the Association internationale des universités de langue française, now known as the Agence universitaire de la Francophonie. From 2000 to 2008, he was in charge of the Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec, and he currently chairs the Association québécoise d’établissements de santé et de services sociaux (AQESSS). Michel Gervais received honorary doctorates from many universities. He was also named Officer of the Order of Canada, the Ordre national du Québec and the Ordre national du Mérite (France).

X

Sr. Sylvie Morin, A.M.J., General Assistant and Bursar, Fédération des monastères des Augustines

CV

Sr. Sylvie Morin entered the Order of the Augustinian Sisters in 1980 at the Monastère de Roberval in Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean. Nurse since 1993, she worked at the Hôtel-Dieu de Roberval until 1998. Then, she was a missionary in Haïti from 1998 to 2000 and in Paraguay from 2001 to 2006. Back in Roberval, she took administrative responsibility as she held the position of in his community until 2010 and that of Superior from 2010 until 2014. On September 16, 2014, she was elected General Assistant and Bursar of the Canadian Fédération des Augustines. 

X

Sr. Lise Tanguay, A.M.J., Superior General, Fédération des monastères des Augustines

CV

Sr. Lise Tanguay entered the Order of the Augustinian Sisters in 1965 after having completed her nursing studies. She worked at the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec hospital in various capacities, as a nurse and an administrator. After completing specialized training in psychiatric care, she became the head nurse of the hospital’s psychiatric unit, a position she held for 10 years. Since 1985, at the request of her community, Sr. Lise has taken on a number of administrative responsibilities, as a member of the board of the Fédération des Augustines and as Superior of the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec monastery. Since 2000, she has been a representative for the Order of the Augustinian Sisters in the development of the project Le Monastère des Augustines. On September 16, 2014, she was elected Superior General of the Canadian Fédération des Augustines.

X

Michel Verreault, Consultant with Verreault Inc. and Corporate Director

CV

In the 1970s, after completing his studies in law at Université Laval and in project and construction management at the University of Waterloo, Michel Verreault joined the family business, founded in 1927. He then helped to build Verreault Construction, one of the largest construction companies in Québec. The company’s solid reputation was built through respect for its clients, partners, human resources, and suppliers. Following the sale of Verreault Construction to Dessau in 2008, Mr. Verreault remained in charge of the construction division. He decided to retire in 2014 and now works part time as a construction consultant in addition to taking part in various community service initiatives. In July 2014, Mr. Verreault joined the Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines, where he offers his help and expertise to ensure the success of one of the most important heritage restoration projects in Canada.

X

Julie Lemieux, Project manager

Musée de la Civilisation

CV

Having obtained a law degree from Université Laval, Julie Lemieux pursued a career in print media for 17 years. While working as a journalist for daily newspaper Le Droit d’Ottawa from 1993 to 1997, she covered municipal and national politics. She was also assigned to arts and entertainment. She then moved to daily newspaper Le Soleil de Québec, where she continued practicing her profession until 2009. Over the span of 12 years, she worked as an editorial writer, arts and life columnist, reporter for the 400th anniversary festivities, municipal politics analyst, and Parliamentary reporter. She was a city councillor for Quebec City from 2009 to 2017. As the executive committee vice-president, she oversaw the following files: land use and urban planning, culture and technoculture, heritage, communications and brand image, as well as major cultural events. She also ensured the coordination between boroughs, presided over the Table de concertation du Vieux-Québec, and the Commission de la révision du schema d’aménagement.

X

André G. Fortin, Administrator

CV

After completing his bachelor’s degree in business administration at Université Laval, André Fortin started his career as a real estate investment analyst at Industrial Alliance. In 1990, he was a management inspector for the financial institution general inspector account, where he helped develop the standards for prudent management, as well as inspection programs for Quebec life insurers. Mr. Fortin was Senior Director, Mortgage and Moveable Investments at La Capitale, where he was responsible for developing credit activities and administering the insurer’s moveable assets. Active on boards for social utility organizations, he was president of the Cercle Finance du Québec executive board from 2008 to 2009, and a member of the board until 2014. From 2013 to 2018, he was a member of the Fondation Québec Philanthrope board, more specifically on the placement, audit, and governance committees, and was acting director general for 10 months. He is on the Fondation Groupes Parrains board of directors, which offers food aid to the families of Saint-Roch and Limoilou, in Quebec City.

X

France Rodrigue

CV

Coming soon.

X

Our
management

Denis Robitaille

General Manager

CV

Since 2005, Denis Robitaille was a project leader for Le Monastère des Augustines, a commemorative space for Quebec’s Augustinians. He saw the Augustinians’ wish take shape and led to completion the establishment of the financial and organizational structures necessary to creating the Fiducie and restoring the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec monastery. He comes to the position of Director of the Fiducie with solid expertise that will bring momentum to the Fiducie’s mission and success to his future endeavours.

X

The
Fiducie’s
achievements

Rehabilitation and preservation of the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec monastery

In 2013, the Fiducie undertook intensive rehabilitation work on the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec monastery to create a remembrance place for Quebec’s Augustinian sisters. Now known as Le Monastère des Augustines and open to the public since August 1, 2015, the location is operated by a non-profit organization mandated by the Fiducie.

Undoubtedly one of the most ambitious heritage reconversion projects in recent years, the grand opening of the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec monastery’s rehabilitation is documented in a collection of videos available on the Fiducie’s YouTube account.

The Fiducie now ensures the site’s maintenance. Among other projects, it undertook major work to replace the copper roof of the church and nuns’ choir in the fall of 2017.

Preservation of archives, books, and artefact collections

After having built a museum reserve and set up an archive centre, the Fiducie now supports the preservation and distribution of the Augustinian sisters’ cultural heritage. Together with Le Monastère’s teams who are assigned to these tasks, it develops projects and seeks financing for them.

The Hôpital général de Québec monastery

Lastly, the Fiducie is responsible for highlighting the heritage value of the Hôpital général monastery in collaboration with its authorities. The Fiducie remains attentive to any requests from the Augustinian sisters in terms of preserving their memory in any shape or form.

Picture details +-

Qui
sommes-nous?

La Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines a pour mission d'assurer, pour toute la population et pour les générations à venir, la sauvegarde et la mise en valeur du patrimoine et de la mémoire des Augustines du Québec.

Créée par les Augustines le 1er octobre 2009, cette fiducie d’utilité sociale qui possède le statut d’organisme de bienfaisance, protège les intentions des Augustines et fait de la population du Québec la principale bénéficiaire de leur patrimoine culturel.

La Fiducie a le devoir de protéger ce patrimoine, de le rendre accessible au public, de soutenir la mission du Monastère des Augustines et du Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin. Elle s’est aussi vu confier par les Augustines la recherche d’une éventuelle reconversion du monastère de l’Hôpital général de Québec.

Nos
actifs

La Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines est propriétaire du monastère fondateur des Augustines, celui de L’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, classé Lieu historique national du Canada et Site patrimonial en vertu de la Loi sur le patrimoine culturel du Québec. Elle est aussi propriétaire des archives, livres anciens et collections confiés par les 12 monastères des Augustines.

Notre
financement

La Fiducie verse au Monastère des Augustines tous les dons reçus pour la réalisation de la mission culturelle et sociale confiée par les Augustines.

La Fiducie voit également à son financement pérenne pour assurer la préservation du patrimoine confié par les Augustines. À ce titre, elle constitue des fonds entièrement dédiés à cette mission grâce à la générosité de grands donateurs.

100 % des dons vont aux projets prioritaires

Nos
fiduciaires

Membres
du conseil
d’administration

Gilles Gingras, CPA, CA, IAS.A, Consultant

Président

CV

Gilles Gingras CPA, CA a été associé chez Deloitte LLP de 1987 à 2013, en certification et services conseil. M. Gingras a également été membre du conseil d’administration canadien de Deloitte de 2002 à 2010 et a siégé à différents comités : finances, gouvernance et risque. Au cours de sa carrière, il a été associé leader du service à la clientèle de sociétés cotées en bourse et de sociétés privées. Il a été responsable de plusieurs mandats de fusion et acquisition, de financement et de planification fiscale, successorale et financière. Il siège actuellement sur le conseil d’administration de Geomega Resources Inc., une société cotée en bourse et est président du comité d’audit. Il siège également sur différents comités de gestion et agit à titre de conseiller auprès de sociétés privées. M. Gingras a une connaissance approfondie du secteur manufacturier (vêtements, sciage, etc..), technologique, agroalimentaire, minier et celui des communautés religieuses.

X

David F. Blair , Avocat et associé, McCarthy Tétrault

CV

David F. Blair a obtenu un LL.B. de l’Université Laval en 1979. Il a été admis au Barreau du Québec en 1980. Il est associé au cabinet de McCarthy Tétrault. Il représente divers clients canadiens, américains et européens dans les secteurs du camionnage, des autobus et des chemins de fer, de même que du secteur minier. Il représente également des compagnies dans le cadre de fusion et acquisition de sociétés fermées et dans le secteur du commerce de détail. Il est actif dans le domaine de gouvernance familiale et des fiducies. Il a été le président de la Société littéraire et historique de Québec et le Morrin Centre pendant 13 ans. Il est en outre chancelier du diocèse anglican de Québec. Il est membre du conseil pour l’avancement de Faculté des sciences de l’administration de l’Université Laval. Il a fait partie du conseil d’administration et comité exécutif en tant que secrétaire de la Société du 400e anniversaire de Québec. Il a été décoré de l’Ordre du Canada en décembre 2013.

X

Michel Gervais, O.C., O.Q., PhD, Consultant

CV

Michel Gervais a passé la majeure partie de sa carrière à l’Université Laval, comme professeur-chercheur, puis comme vice-recteur à l’enseignement et à la recherche (1982-1987) et recteur (de 1987 à 1997). Son rectorat a été marqué par un progrès remarquable de Laval, notamment sur le plan de la recherche et des études supérieures. Il a présidé la Conférence des recteurs du Québec, l’Association des universités et collèges du Canada, l’Entraide universitaire mondiale du Canada et l’Association internationale des universités de langue française, devenue l’Agence universitaire de la Francophonie. De 2000 à 2008, il a dirigé l’Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec et préside actuellement l’Association québécoise d’établissements de santé et de services sociaux (AQESSS). Il est récipiendaire de nombreux doctorats honorifiques en plus d’être fait Officier de l’Ordre du Canada, de l’Ordre national du Québec et de l’Ordre national du Mérite (France).

X

Sœur Sylvie Morin, A.M.J., Assistante et économe générale, Fédération des monastères des Augustines

CV

Sœur Sylvie Morin est entrée dans l’Ordre des Augustines de la Miséricorde de Jésus en 1980. Elle est du Monastère de Roberval au Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean. Infirmière depuis 1993, elle a travaillé à l’Hôtel Dieu de Roberval jusqu’en 1998. Ensuite, elle fut missionnaire en Haïti de 1998 à 2000 et au Paraguay de 2001 à 2006. De retour à Roberval, elle occupe le poste d’économe dans sa communauté jusqu’en 2010 et celui de Supérieure de 2010 à 2014. Le 16 septembre 2014, elle est élue Assistante et économe générale de l’Ordre des Augustines de la Fédération canadienne.

X

Sœur Lise Tanguay, A.M.J., Supérieure générale, Fédération des monastères des Augustines

CV

Sœur Lise Tanguay est entrée dans l’Ordre des Augustines de la Miséricorde de Jésus  en 1965 après avoir fait ses études infirmières. Après sa profession religieuse, elle a œuvré dans les différents services de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec  comme infirmière soignante. Après avoir suivi une formation spécialisée en soins psychiatriques, elle a été pendant 10 ans, chef d’unité du département de psychiatrie de ce même hôpital. Depuis 1985, sa communauté l’appelle à occuper des responsabilités administratives en tant que membre du Conseil général de la Fédération des Augustines et/ou à titre de supérieure du monastère de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec. Depuis l’an 2000, elle est répondante pour l’Ordre des Augustines dans l’avancement du projet Le Monastère des Augustines. Le 16 septembre 2014, elle fut élue Supérieure générale de l'Ordre des Augustines de la Fédération canadienne.

X

Michel Verreault, Consultant chez Verreault Inc et administrateur de sociétés

CV

Dans les années 70, après avoir terminé ses études en Droit à l’Université Laval et en Project and Construction Management à l’Université Waterloo, Michel Verreault joint la compagnie familiale, fondée en 1927. Il contribue alors à bâtir une des plus grandes compagnies de construction du Québec. La solide réputation de cette entreprise s’est construite dans le respect de sa clientèle, de ses partenaires, de ses ressources humaines et de ses fournisseurs. Après la vente de Verreault Construction en 2008 à la firme Dessau, M. Verreault reste en charge de la division construction et décide de se retirer en 2014. Il travaille désormais à temps partiel comme consultant en construction et est engagé dans différentes œuvres sociales. En juillet 2014, M. Verreault a joint la Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines où il offre son aide et son expertise pour assurer la réussite d’un des plus importants projets de restauration patrimoniale au Canada.

X

Julie Lemieux, Chargée de mission

Musée de la Civilisation

CV

Bachelière en droit de l’Université Laval, Julie Lemieux a fait carrière dans le monde de la presse écrite pendant 17 ans. D’abord à l’emploi du quotidien Le Droit d’Ottawa, de 1993 à 1997, où elle a couvert la politique municipale et nationale, les arts et spectacles, elle a par la suite transporté sa plume au quotidien Le Soleil de Québec, où elle a exercé sa profession jusqu’en 2009. Durant ces quelque 12 ans, elle a agi comme éditorialiste, chroniqueuse Arts et Vie, reporter affectée aux Fêtes du 400e, analyste de la scène politique municipale et journaliste au Parlement. Conseillère municipale à la Ville de Québec de 2009 à 2017, elle fut, à titre de vice-présidente du comité exécutif, responsable des dossiers suivants : aménagement du territoire et urbanisme, culture et techno-culture, patrimoine, communications et image de marque ainsi que grands événements culturels. Elle a également assuré la coordination entre les arrondissements, présidé la Table de concertation du Vieux-Québec et la Commission de la révision du schéma d'aménagement.

X

André G. Fortin, Administrateur

CV

Bachelier en administration des affaires de l’Université Laval, André Fortin a débuté sa carrière à titre d’analyste en investissements immobiliers auprès de l’Industrielle-Alliance. En 1990, il est inspecteur en gestion pour le compte de l’Inspecteur général des institutions financières où il contribue à élaborer des normes de gestion prudente auprès des assureurs-vie québécois. Monsieur Fortin fut Directeur principal - Placements hypothécaires et mobiliers à La Capitale où il a développé des activités de crédit et administré les actifs mobiliers de l’assureur. Actif au sein de conseils d’administration d’organismes d’utilité sociale, il fut président du conseil d’administration du Cercle Finance du Québec, de 2008 à 2009, et membre de ce conseil jusqu’en 2014. De 2013 à 2018, il fut membre du conseil d’administration de la Fondation Québec philanthrope et fut directeur général par intérim pendant 10 mois. Il est membre du conseil de la Fondation Groupes Parrains qui procure de l’aide alimentaire aux familles de Saint-Roch et Limoilou, à Québec.

X

France Rodrigue, Vice-présidente Immobilier

SSQ Assurance

CV

France Rodrigue est vice-présidente Immobilier chez SSQ Assurance. Elle supervise les activités de gestion opérationnelle et de mise en valeur des actifs immobiliers de l’entreprise en plus d’agir à titre de spécialiste en immobilier. À l’emploi de SSQ Assurance depuis plus de 25 ans, elle s’est particulièrement démarquée en gestion et en technologies de l’information, ainsi que dans les domaines de la finance et de l’immobilier. Bachelière de l’Université Laval en administration des affaires, Mme Rodrigue possède le titre d’administrateur de sociétés certifié (ASC), le titre d’administrateur agréé (Adm.A.) de même que celui de Fellow of the Life Management Institute (FLMI). Très impliquée dans son milieu, elle siège au conseil d’administration de la Fondation des Musées de la civilisation et est administratrice au sein du conseil d’administration de l’Institut de développement urbain du Québec. De plus, Mme Rodrigue est particulièrement engagée auprès de Centraide Québec Chaudière-Appalaches et du Bal du maire de Québec, en appui à la Fondation Jeunes en Tête.

X

Notre
direction

Denis Robitaille

Directeur général

CV

Depuis 2005, Denis Robitaille était chargé de la réalisation du projet Le Monastère des Augustines, lieu de mémoire des Augustines du Québec. Il a vu à la concrétisation des intentions des Augustines et mené à bien la mise en place des structures financières et organisationnelles nécessaires à la création de la Fiducie et à la réhabilitation du monastère de L’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec.  Il arrive à la direction de la Fiducie avec une solide expertise pour donner l’impulsion nécessaire à sa mission et au succès de ses responsabilités à venir.

X

Les
réalisations
de la Fiducie

Réhabilitation et préservation du monastère de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec

En 2013, la Fiducie entamait d’importants travaux de réhabilitation du monastère de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec pour y réaliser le lieu de mémoire des Augustines du Québec. Désormais connu sous le nom de Le Monastère des Augustines et ouvert au public depuis le 1er août 2015, le lieu est maintenant opéré par un organisme sans but lucratif mandaté par la Fiducie.

Sans contredit l’un des projets les plus ambitieux de reconversion patrimoniale des dernières années, la grande aventure de la réhabilitation du monastère de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec est relatée par un ensemble de reportages vidéos disponibles sur le site Youtube de la Fiducie.

La Fiducie assure maintenant l’entretien du site. Elle a notamment réalisé à l’automne 2017 d’importants travaux de remplacement des toitures de cuivre de l’église et du chœur des religieuses.

Préservation des archives, livres anciens et collections d’objets

Après avoir construit une réserve muséale et aménagé un centre d’archives, la Fiducie soutient maintenant la préservation et la diffusion du patrimoine culturel des Augustines. De concert avec les équipes du Monastère chargées de ces fonctions, elle développe des projets et cherche du financement en ce sens.

Monastère de l’Hôpital Général de Québec

Enfin, la Fiducie est responsable de la mise en valeur patrimoniale du monastère de l’Hôpital Général, en collaboration avec les autorités de ce monastère. La Fiducie reste par ailleurs attentive à toutes demandes provenant des Augustines en matière de préservation de leur mémoire sous quelque forme que ce soit.

Info sur les photos +-