Who
are we?

The mission of the Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines is to preserve and highlight the memory and heritage of Quebec’s Augustinian sisters for the entire population and future generations.

Created by the Augustinian sisters on October 1, 2009, this social trust, which qualifies as a charitable organization, protects the Augustinian sisters’ intentions and designates the population of Quebec as the main beneficiary of their cultural heritage.

It is the trust’s duty to protect this heritage, make it accessible to the public, and support the mission of Le Monastère des Augustines and the Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin. The Augustinian sisters have also entrusted it with the task of eventually seeking to reconvert the Hôpital général de Québec monastery.

Our
assets

The Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines owns the Augustinian sisters’ founding monastery, the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, classified as a national historic site of Canada and a heritage site according to Quebec Cultural Heritage Act. It is also the owner of the archives, old books, and collections entrusted to it by the 12 Augustinian monasteries.

Our
funding

The Fiducie contributes all donations received through Le Monastère des Augustines to the realization of the social mission entrusted in it by the Augustinian sisters.

The Fiducie also ensures that its financing is sustainable in order to preserve this important heritage. To this end, it creates funds entirely dedicated to this mission thanks to the generosity of major donors.

100% of donations go to priority projects

Our
trustees

Members
of the board
of directors

Gilles Gingras, CPA, CA, IAS.A, Consultant

President

CV

From 1987 to 2013, Gilles Gingras, CPA, CA, was a partner with Deloitte LLP in certification and consulting. From 2002 to 2010, Mr. Gingras sat on Deloitte’s Canadian Board of Directors and its finance, governance and risk committees. During the course of his career, he also acted as a lead client service partner for publicly traded and private companies, and was in charge of several mandates in mergers and acquisitions, financing, and tax, succession and financial planning. Mr. Gingras is currently a member of the Board of Directors of Geomega Resources Inc., a publicly traded corporation, and Chair of the Audit Committee. He also sits on various management committees and serves as an advisor for private companies. Gilles Gingras has in-depth knowledge of a number of activity sectors, namely, manufacturing (clothing, lumber, etc.), technology, agri-food, mining and religious communities.

X

David F. Blair, Lawyer and partner at McCarthy Tétrault

CV

David F. Blair obtained his Bachelor of Law (LL.B) from Université Laval in 1979 and was called to the Barreau du Québec in 1980. A partner with McCarthy Tétrault, he represents various Canadian, American and European partners in the trucking, bus and railway sectors, as well as in mining. He also represents companies in private merger and acquisition transactions and in the retail trade, and is active in the field of family governance and trusts. Mr. Blair was President of the Literary and Historical Society of  Quebec and the Morrin Centre for 13 years. He is the Chancellor of the Anglican Diocese of Quebec and a member of the Conseil pour l’avancement of the Faculté des sciences de l’administration of Université Laval. He also served as Secretary of the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee of the Société du 400e anniversaire de Québec. David F. Blair received the Order of Canada in December 2013.

X

Michel Fontaine, Retired

Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux

CV

Holding diplomas in nursing, administration, and health law, Michel Fontaine started his nursing career at the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec in 1971. After working with the sick, he held management positions, first at the Hôtel-Dieu, and then at the Agence de la Santé et des Services sociaux de la Capitale-Nationale. In 2011, he was named associate deputy minister to the General management of coordination, financing, capital, and budget at the Ministère de la Santé et des services sociaux. In 2014, he became deputy minister, before retiring in the spring of 2019. In May of the same year, the Quebec Order of Nurses awarded him the Florence prize in the professional dedication category. On this occasion, the press release highlighted: “The only nurse to have risen to the upper levels of the MSSS, Michel Fontaine’s career was all about devoting himself to the network, patients, families, and health-care professionals, providing unswerving support to the nursing profession.”

X

Sr. Sylvie Morin, A.M.J., General Assistant and Bursar, Fédération des monastères des Augustines

CV

Sr. Sylvie Morin entered the Order of the Augustinian Sisters in 1980 at the Monastère de Roberval in Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean. Nurse since 1993, she worked at the Hôtel-Dieu de Roberval until 1998. Then, she was a missionary in Haïti from 1998 to 2000 and in Paraguay from 2001 to 2006. Back in Roberval, she took administrative responsibility as she held the position of in his community until 2010 and that of Superior from 2010 until 2014. On September 16, 2014, she was elected General Assistant and Bursar of the Canadian Fédération des Augustines. 

X

Véronique Vanbergen, General Manager

Fédération des monastères des Augustines

CV

An expert accountant certified by the Ordre des Comptables et des Experts-Comptables de Belgique, Véronique Vanbergen moved to Quebec with her family after practicing her profession in her country for several years. From 2001 to 2015, she worked for the Deloitte firm as manager of financial audits and corporate inspection missions. Specialized in accounting and business advice, she also took on management responsibilities in the private sector. Throughout her career, she developed a solid expertise by working with charity organizations and religious communities. Since 2015, she has been the general manager of the Fédération des monastères des Augustines, in charge of the general management of operations for Quebec’s Augustinian communities. Passionate about the work of the Augustinian Sisters, she is one of their most prominent collaborators.

X

Anne-Marie Gaudet, General Manager

Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency

CV

Holding a diploma in environmental sciences, Anne-Marie Gaudet has worked for the federal government for 20 years. Her career started at Public Services and Procurement Canada, where she provided environmental expertise to several federal ministers. She worked on improving infrastructures along the Saint Lawrence Seaway to reduce their environmental impact. While working for Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada from 2001 to 2004, she partook in creating policies in response to aboriginal communities’ environmental issues, notably in Nunavik. As the director of Quebec’s regional Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency office since 2015, she manages a team of scientists and political analysts who work on important projects aiming to highlight maritime resources and infrastructure. In 2017, she co-founded the Réseau des femmes cadres de la Fondation publique fédérale du Québec and the ballet concentration program at the Académie de ballet Christy. She is also on Le Monastère des Augustines’ board of directors.

X

Julie Lemieux, Project manager

Musée de la Civilisation

CV

Having obtained a law degree from Université Laval, Julie Lemieux pursued a career in print media for 17 years. She first worked for daily newspaper Le Droit D’Ottawa from 1993 to 1997, and then for Le Soleil de Québec until 2009. Over the span of 12 years, she worked as an editorial writer, arts and life columnist, reporter for the 400th anniversary festivities, municipal politics analyst, and parliamentary reporter. She was a city councillor for Quebec City from 2009 to 2017, and as executive committee vice-president, oversaw land use and urban planning, culture and technoculture, heritage, communications and brand image, as well as major cultural events. She also ensured the coordination between boroughs, presided over the Table de concertation du Vieux-Québec, and the Commission de la révision du schema d’aménagement. Working as a task officer at the Musée de la Civilisation de Québec in 2018, and then as secretary general, she is now president and general manager of Opération Enfant Soleil.

X

André G. Fortin, Administrator

CV

After completing his bachelor’s degree in business administration at Université Laval, André Fortin started his career as a real estate investment analyst at Industrial Alliance. In 1990, he was a management inspector for the financial institution general inspector account, where he helped develop the standards for prudent management, as well as inspection programs for Quebec life insurers. Mr. Fortin was Senior Director, Mortgage and Moveable Investments at La Capitale, where he was responsible for developing credit activities and administering the insurer’s moveable assets. Active on boards for social utility organizations, he was president of the Cercle Finance du Québec executive board from 2008 to 2009, and a member of the board until 2014. From 2013 to 2018, he was a member of the Fondation Québec Philanthrope board, more specifically on the placement, audit, and governance committees, and was acting director general for 10 months. He is on the Fondation Groupes Parrains board of directors, which offers food aid to the families of Saint-Roch and Limoilou, in Quebec City.

X

France Rodrigue, Vice President, Real Estate

SSQ Insurance

CV

France Rodrigue is the Vice President, Real Estate at SSQ Insurance. She supervises operational management activities and highlighting the company’s property assets, and is also a real estate specialist. Having worked at SSQ Insurance for over 25 years, she has distinguished herself in terms of management and information technology, as well as in the financial and property fields. Holding a bachelor’s degree from Université Laval in business administration, Mrs. Rodrigue is also an Administrateur de sociétés certifié (ASC), a Chartered Administrator (Adm.A.), as well as a Fellow of the Life Management Institute (FLMI). She is very involved in her field, and is on the Fondation des Musées de la civilisation board of directors. She also manages the Institut de développement urbain du Québec board. Mrs. Rodrigue is also particularly active with Centraide Québec Chaudière-Appalaches and the Quebec City Mayor’s Ball, which supports the Fondation Jeunes en Tête.

X

Our
management

Nathalie Roy

CV

With an entrepreneurial background, Nathalie was at the helm of a local company for over 20 years. She is an experienced manager when it comes to coordinating and developing services and innovative projects. She is also one of the founders of the Société de développement commercial (SDC) Montcalm, and was the president of its board of directors for 10 years. Her dedication towards the field’s business people led her to join different committees in Québec City and play a part in creating projects like Lumière sur l’art on Cartier avenue. Social involvement, solidarity, and learning about others are integral to her personal values. She takes on managing the Fiducie with the mission of mapping out necessary actions to ensure the Fiducie’s perennity and future development.

X

The
Fiducie’s
achievements

Rehabilitation and preservation of the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec monastery

In 2013, the Fiducie undertook intensive rehabilitation work on the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec monastery to create a remembrance place for Quebec’s Augustinian sisters. Now known as Le Monastère des Augustines and open to the public since August 1, 2015, the location is operated by a non-profit organization mandated by the Fiducie.

Undoubtedly one of the most ambitious heritage reconversion projects in recent years, the grand opening of the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec monastery’s rehabilitation is documented in a collection of videos available on the Fiducie’s YouTube account.

The Fiducie now ensures the site’s maintenance. Among other projects, it undertook major work to replace the copper roof of the church and nuns’ choir in the fall of 2017.

Preservation of archives, books, and artefact collections

After having built a museum reserve and set up an archive centre, the Fiducie now supports the preservation and distribution of the Augustinian sisters’ cultural heritage. Together with Le Monastère’s teams who are assigned to these tasks, it develops projects and seeks financing for them.

The Hôpital général de Québec monastery

Lastly, the Fiducie is responsible for highlighting the heritage value of the Hôpital général monastery in collaboration with its authorities. The Fiducie remains attentive to any requests from the Augustinian sisters in terms of preserving their memory in any shape or form.

Picture details +-

Qui
sommes-nous?

La Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines a pour mission d'assurer, pour toute la population et pour les générations à venir, la sauvegarde et la mise en valeur du patrimoine et de la mémoire des Augustines du Québec.

Créée par les Augustines le 1er octobre 2009, cette fiducie d’utilité sociale qui possède le statut d’organisme de bienfaisance, protège les intentions des Augustines et fait de la population du Québec la principale bénéficiaire de leur patrimoine culturel.

La Fiducie a le devoir de protéger ce patrimoine, de le rendre accessible au public, de soutenir la mission du Monastère des Augustines et du Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin. Elle s’est aussi vu confier par les Augustines la recherche d’une éventuelle reconversion du monastère de l’Hôpital général de Québec.

Nos
actifs

La Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines est propriétaire du monastère fondateur des Augustines, celui de L’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, classé Lieu historique national du Canada et Site patrimonial en vertu de la Loi sur le patrimoine culturel du Québec. Elle est aussi propriétaire des archives, livres anciens et collections confiés par les 12 monastères des Augustines.

Notre
financement

La Fiducie verse au Monastère des Augustines tous les dons reçus pour la réalisation de la mission culturelle et sociale confiée par les Augustines.

La Fiducie voit également à son financement pérenne pour assurer la préservation du patrimoine confié par les Augustines. À ce titre, elle constitue des fonds entièrement dédiés à cette mission grâce à la générosité de grands donateurs.

100 % des dons vont aux projets prioritaires

Nos
fiduciaires

Membres
du conseil
d’administration

Gilles Gingras, CPA, CA, IAS.A, Consultant

Président

CV

Gilles Gingras CPA, CA a été associé chez Deloitte LLP de 1987 à 2013, en certification et services conseil. M. Gingras a également été membre du conseil d’administration canadien de Deloitte de 2002 à 2010 et a siégé à différents comités : finances, gouvernance et risque. Au cours de sa carrière, il a été associé leader du service à la clientèle de sociétés cotées en bourse et de sociétés privées. Il a été responsable de plusieurs mandats de fusion et acquisition, de financement et de planification fiscale, successorale et financière. Il siège actuellement sur le conseil d’administration de Geomega Resources Inc., une société cotée en bourse et est président du comité d’audit. Il siège également sur différents comités de gestion et agit à titre de conseiller auprès de sociétés privées. M. Gingras a une connaissance approfondie du secteur manufacturier (vêtements, sciage, etc..), technologique, agroalimentaire, minier et celui des communautés religieuses.

X

David F. Blair , Avocat et associé, McCarthy Tétrault

CV

David F. Blair a obtenu un LL.B. de l’Université Laval en 1979. Il a été admis au Barreau du Québec en 1980. Il est associé au cabinet de McCarthy Tétrault. Il représente divers clients canadiens, américains et européens dans les secteurs du camionnage, des autobus et des chemins de fer, de même que du secteur minier. Il représente également des compagnies dans le cadre de fusion et acquisition de sociétés fermées et dans le secteur du commerce de détail. Il est actif dans le domaine de gouvernance familiale et des fiducies. Il a été le président de la Société littéraire et historique de Québec et le Morrin Centre pendant 13 ans. Il est en outre chancelier du diocèse anglican de Québec. Il est membre du conseil pour l’avancement de Faculté des sciences de l’administration de l’Université Laval. Il a fait partie du conseil d’administration et comité exécutif en tant que secrétaire de la Société du 400e anniversaire de Québec. Il a été décoré de l’Ordre du Canada en décembre 2013.

X

Michel Fontaine, Retraité

Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux

CV

Diplômé en sciences infirmières, en administration et en droit de la santé, Michel Fontaine débute sa carrière  d’infirmier à l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec en 1971.  Après avoir œuvré au chevet des malades, il occupe des postes de gestionnaire à l’Hôtel-Dieu, puis à l’agence de la Santé et des Services sociaux de la Capitale-Nationale. En 2011, il est nommé sous-ministre associé à la Direction générale de la coordination, du financement, des immobilisations et du budget au ministère de la Santé et des services sociaux. En 2014, il accède au poste de sous-ministre et prend sa retraite au printemps 2019. En mai de la même année, l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec lui remet le Prix Florence, catégorie Engagement. À cette occasion, le communiqué souligne : « Seul infirmier à s’être hissé jusqu’aux hautes sphères du MSSS, Michel Fontaine a placé sa carrière sous le signe de l’engagement envers le réseau, les patients, les familles et les professionnels de la santé, accordant un soutien indéfectible à la profession infirmière. »

X

Sœur Sylvie Morin, A.M.J., Assistante et économe générale, Fédération des monastères des Augustines

CV

Sœur Sylvie Morin est entrée dans l’Ordre des Augustines de la Miséricorde de Jésus en 1980. Elle est du Monastère de Roberval au Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean. Infirmière depuis 1993, elle a travaillé à l’Hôtel Dieu de Roberval jusqu’en 1998. Ensuite, elle fut missionnaire en Haïti de 1998 à 2000 et au Paraguay de 2001 à 2006. De retour à Roberval, elle occupe le poste d’économe dans sa communauté jusqu’en 2010 et celui de Supérieure de 2010 à 2014. Le 16 septembre 2014, elle est élue Assistante et économe générale de l’Ordre des Augustines de la Fédération canadienne.

X

Véronique Vanbergen, Directrice générale

Fédération des monastères des Augustines

CV

Diplômée expert-comptable de l’Ordre des Comptables et Experts-Comptables de Belgique, Véronique Vanbergen s’établit au Québec avec sa famille après avoir exercé sa profession quelques années dans son pays. De 2001 à 2015, elle est à l’emploi du cabinet Deloitte, à titre de responsable d’audits financiers et de missions d’examens de corporations. Spécialisée en comptabilité et conseils d’affaires, elle assume également des responsabilités de gestion dans le secteur privé. Au cours de sa carrière, elle développe une solide expertise auprès des organismes de bienfaisance et des communautés religieuses. Depuis 2015, elle est directrice générale à la Fédération des Monastères des Augustines, responsable de la gestion générale des opérations des communautés d’Augustines au Québec. Passionnée par l’œuvre des Augustines, elle est auprès d’elles une collaboratrice de premier plan.

X

Anne-Marie Gaudet, Directrice régionale

Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale

CV

Diplômée en sciences de l’environnement, Anne-Marie Gaudet travaille pour le gouvernement fédéral depuis 20 ans. Sa carrière débute à Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada où elle fournit une expertise environnementale à plusieurs ministères fédéraux. Elle travaille alors à l’amélioration des infrastructures le long de la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent afin d’en réduire les impacts environnementaux. À l’emploi d’Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada de 2001 à 2004, Mme Gaudet participe à l’élaboration de politiques en réponse aux enjeux environnementaux des collectivités autochtones, notamment au Nunavik. Directrice du bureau régional du Québec de l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale depuis 2015, elle gère une équipe de scientifiques et d’analystes politiques, principalement sur de grands projets de mise en valeur des ressources et infrastructures maritimes. En 2017, Mme Gaudet cofonde le Réseau de femmes cadres de la Fonction publique fédérale du Québec et le programme de concentration-ballet à l’Académie de ballet Christy. Elle siège également au conseil d’administration du Monastère des Augustines.

X

Julie Lemieux, Présidente et directrice générale

Opération Enfant Soleil

CV

Bachelière en droit de l’Université Laval, Julie Lemieux fait carrière dans le monde de la presse écrite pendant 17 ans. D’abord à l’emploi du quotidien Le Droit d’Ottawa, de 1993 à 1997, puis au quotidien Le Soleil de Québec jusqu’en 2009. Durant ces quelque 12 ans, elle agit comme éditorialiste, chroniqueuse Arts et Vie, reporter affectée aux Fêtes du 400e, analyste de la scène politique municipale et journaliste parlementaire. Conseillère municipale à la Ville de Québec de 2009 à 2017, elle est, à titre de vice-présidente du comité exécutif, responsable des dossiers d’aménagement du territoire et urbanisme, culture et technoculture, patrimoine, communications et image de marque ainsi que des grands événements culturels. Elle assure également la coordination entre les arrondissements, préside la Table de concertation du Vieux-Québec et la Commission de la révision du schéma d'aménagement. Chargée de mission au Musée de la Civilisation de Québec en 2018 puis secrétaire générale, elle est aujourd’hui présidente et directrice générale d’Opération Enfant Soleil.

X

André G. Fortin, Administrateur

CV

Bachelier en administration des affaires de l’Université Laval, André Fortin a débuté sa carrière à titre d’analyste en investissements immobiliers auprès de l’Industrielle-Alliance. En 1990, il est inspecteur en gestion pour le compte de l’Inspecteur général des institutions financières où il contribue à élaborer des normes de gestion prudente auprès des assureurs-vie québécois. Monsieur Fortin fut Directeur principal - Placements hypothécaires et mobiliers à La Capitale où il a développé des activités de crédit et administré les actifs mobiliers de l’assureur. Actif au sein de conseils d’administration d’organismes d’utilité sociale, il fut président du conseil d’administration du Cercle Finance du Québec, de 2008 à 2009, et membre de ce conseil jusqu’en 2014. De 2013 à 2018, il fut membre du conseil d’administration de la Fondation Québec philanthrope et fut directeur général par intérim pendant 10 mois. Il est membre du conseil de la Fondation Groupes Parrains qui procure de l’aide alimentaire aux familles de Saint-Roch et Limoilou, à Québec.

X

France Rodrigue, Vice-présidente Immobilier

SSQ Assurance

CV

France Rodrigue est vice-présidente Immobilier chez SSQ Assurance. Elle supervise les activités de gestion opérationnelle et de mise en valeur des actifs immobiliers de l’entreprise en plus d’agir à titre de spécialiste en immobilier. À l’emploi de SSQ Assurance depuis plus de 25 ans, elle s’est particulièrement démarquée en gestion et en technologies de l’information, ainsi que dans les domaines de la finance et de l’immobilier. Bachelière de l’Université Laval en administration des affaires, Mme Rodrigue possède le titre d’administrateur de sociétés certifié (ASC), le titre d’administrateur agréé (Adm.A.) de même que celui de Fellow of the Life Management Institute (FLMI). Très impliquée dans son milieu, elle siège au conseil d’administration de la Fondation des Musées de la civilisation et est administratrice au sein du conseil d’administration de l’Institut de développement urbain du Québec. De plus, Mme Rodrigue est particulièrement engagée auprès de Centraide Québec Chaudière-Appalaches et du Bal du maire de Québec, en appui à la Fondation Jeunes en Tête.

X

Notre
direction

Nathalie Roy

CV

Issue du milieu de l’entreprenariat, Nathalie a été à la barre d’une entreprise locale pendant plus de vingt ans.  C’est une gestionnaire d’expérience dans la coordination et le développement de services et de projets novateurs. De plus, elle est l’une des fondatrices de la Société de développement commercial (SDC) Montcalm et en a été la présidente du conseil d’administration pendant 10 ans. Son engagement envers les gens d’affaires du secteur l’ont amenée à travailler sur différents comités avec la ville de Québec et à collaborer à l’implantation de projet comme « Lumière sur l’art » sur l’avenue Cartier. L’implication sociale, la solidarité et la découverte de l’autre font partie intégrante de ses valeurs personnelles. Elle arrive à la direction de la Fiducie avec la mission de développer la suite des actions à poser pour assurer la pérennité de la Fiducie et son développement futur.

X

Les
réalisations
de la Fiducie

Réhabilitation et préservation du monastère de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec

En 2013, la Fiducie entamait d’importants travaux de réhabilitation du monastère de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec pour y réaliser le lieu de mémoire des Augustines du Québec. Désormais connu sous le nom de Le Monastère des Augustines et ouvert au public depuis le 1er août 2015, le lieu est maintenant opéré par un organisme sans but lucratif mandaté par la Fiducie.

Sans contredit l’un des projets les plus ambitieux de reconversion patrimoniale des dernières années, la grande aventure de la réhabilitation du monastère de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec est relatée par un ensemble de reportages vidéos disponibles sur le site Youtube de la Fiducie.

La Fiducie assure maintenant l’entretien du site. Elle a notamment réalisé à l’automne 2017 d’importants travaux de remplacement des toitures de cuivre de l’église et du chœur des religieuses.

Préservation des archives, livres anciens et collections d’objets

Après avoir construit une réserve muséale et aménagé un centre d’archives, la Fiducie soutient maintenant la préservation et la diffusion du patrimoine culturel des Augustines. De concert avec les équipes du Monastère chargées de ces fonctions, elle développe des projets et cherche du financement en ce sens.

Monastère de l’Hôpital Général de Québec

Enfin, la Fiducie est responsable de la mise en valeur patrimoniale du monastère de l’Hôpital Général, en collaboration avec les autorités de ce monastère. La Fiducie reste par ailleurs attentive à toutes demandes provenant des Augustines en matière de préservation de leur mémoire sous quelque forme que ce soit.

Info sur les photos +-