TEMPORARY NEW HOME FOR SHRINE TO CATHERINE DE SAINT-AUGUSTIN
Work to restore and bring Hôtel-Dieu de Québec monastery up to modern building codes continues.
February 27, 2013, The shrine containing the remains of blessed Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin - sculpted by Noël Levasseur in 1717 - was moved to the monastery’s church. Pilgrims wishing to pray in presence of the shrine can now do so in the new location.
The shrine was taken to its new home in a moving ceremony presided over by Bishop Jean Tailleur, Chancellor of the Diocese of Quebec and Denise Matthieu,Vice-Chancellor. Several Augustinian Sisters and some of the people who work closely with them were present to witness the event.
Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin was born in 1632. She arrived at the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec monastery in 1648 and worked there until her death in 1668. Beatified by Pope John Paul II in 1989, she is one of the most important spiritual figures of the Augustinian Sisters.
When restoration work is complete in 2015, the Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin will be relocated in the church. Under the sisters’ responsibility, the Centre will continue to showcase Catherine de Saint-Augustin.
Photo Credit: Daniel Abel