The Hôpital général de Québec monastery is undoubtedly one of the most impressive jewels of Quebec’s heritage. The Recollects built a first monastery in 1620, and important traces of this installation still exist today. At the request of Monseigneur Saint-Vallier, the second bishop of New France, the Augustinian sisters took charge of it as a general hospital in 1693. Having become a long- term care facility managed by the State, the Hôpital général de Québec pursues its original mission, and the monastery is still occupied by the Augustinian sisters. However, it will soon be time to consider the future of this exceptional historic space when it will no longer be needed by the nuns.
As per a mandate entrusted to it by the Augustinian sisters, the Fiducie ensures the development of projects whose aim is to highlight the site of the Hôpital général monastery and provide for its future. For the time being, the trust has been developing and consolidating its knowledge of the site to better promote its heritage value. It has leveraged two historic events—the first establishment of the Recollects (1620) and the arrival of the Augustinians (1693)—to provide the population with an opportunity to discover the site. This knowledge and notoriety will affect future decisions related to the use of the monastery.
You can follow the project’s evolution and its most recent advancements in terms of knowledge, and development of one of the oldest religious houses in the country on the website of the Hôpital général de Québec.Visit